Tasty Cherry Crostini Recipe for cherry season

I was at Whole Foods last week and they were offering up different recipes from local food bloggers using fresh cherries to promote their 5th annual cherry fest. Basically, they were having a giant sale on cherries. I decided to pick out my favorite recipe and make it at home.

The standout recipe to me was the cherry crostini from Over the Top Kid. Once my cherries were ready it was very simple to put together.

Chocolate-Coffee-Cupcakes-Buttercream-Frosting4

This is the first time I have ever done anything with cherries other than eat them fresh. Whole Foods offered up the suggestion of using a chopstick to pit the cherries over a glass bottle. It worked pretty well, but I did not escape the red-stained finger tips. Be careful to use the flat end of the chopstick otherwise things will fly all over the place.

Cherry-Crostini-Bread-Recipe

Chocolate-Coffee-Cupcakes-Buttercream-Frosting6

Slice up your bread and toast it for a few minutes. I used our toaster oven just to give the bread a slight golden brown color.

Cherry-Crostini-Bread-Recipe

Once you are done toasting your bread, layer the cheese, walnuts, and cherries. Complete this dish by drizzling with honey.

Here’s the assembled cherry crostini. Aren’t they gorgeous? They taste just as good as they look. I love when dishes have a variety of textures and this is a perfect dish for that. You have the crunchiness of the walnuts and bread with the creaminess of the cheese and topped with the cherries and honey is simply indulgent.

Cherry-Crostini-Bread-Recipe

Recipe from Over the Top Kid:

INGREDIENTS
1/2 pound Kunik cheese
1/4 pound pitted and sliced cherries
1/4 cup candied walnuts (or plain), chopped
honey
1 french baguette

INSTRUCTIONS
1. Pit the cherries and dice into bite-sized pieces.
2. Cut the french baguette into small slices and toast.
3. Spread cheese onto bread.
4. Top with walnuts and cherries
5. Drizzle with honey and serve.

Note: I could not find Kunik cheese at Whole Foods. I just picked a nice and creamy spreadable cheese.

3 thoughts on “Tasty Cherry Crostini Recipe for cherry season

  1. Oh, how did it turn out? I love that you went home and made her recipe! I actually ASKED someone where the Kunik cheese was because I couldn’t find it and when he handed it to me, it was a pricey piece of cheese. What I learned is that they can cut it in half for you, so we had ours cut in half and it was obviously less expensive then. Look next time because it’s really yummy! 🙂

    • Wendy, it was delicious! I had the same issue with the cheese. I asked the person working at Whole Foods in the cheese department and they said they had never heard of it. I even showed him the recipe sheet. But the one he suggested to me was perfect (and cheap!)

      I’ve also had great experience with Whole Foods letting me take smaller portions. I tried the Cotton Candy grapes and wanted to take them home so my husband could try them, but they were $14 for a bag. They bagged up about $1.50 worth of product for me to take home. Love their customer service (minus not knowing Kunik cheese of course.)

Any thoughts on this post?

