Chocolate and Cold Brew Coffee Cupcakes with Coffee Buttercream Frosting Recipe

Chocolate-Coffee-Cupcakes-Buttercream-Frosting3

For my birthday, which is today, my sister gifted me with this awesome apron. It perfectly combines two of my favorite things – photography and baking! If you like the apron you can find it on Etsy from the seller Boojiboo.

I wanted to make something special to christen the apron and I remembered that I just bought the cutest cupcake kit from Urbanic Paper Boutique in the Abbot Kinney shopping area of Venice, California over the weekend.

Chocolate-Coffee-Cupcakes-Buttercream-Frosting2

Look at this cute little display. I want it tall! The kit I bought is the one smack dab in the middle of the table with the sparkly party hats and shiny gold cupcake liners.

Chocolate-Coffee-Cupcakes-Buttercream-Frosting4

So I had the cupcake liners, now all I needed was a recipe. Since my husband has recently taking up cold brewing coffee I decided coffee cupcakes would be the perfect recipe to celebrate my birthday with.

Chocolate-Coffee-Cupcakes-Buttercream-Frosting5Here’s my husband working his cold brew coffee magic. If you want to try cold brewing coffee for yourself follow the guide on Nosh On. It.

Okay, on to the cupcakes!

Chocolate-Coffee-Cupcakes-Buttercream-Frosting6Cream your sugar and butter together.

Chocolate-Coffee-Cupcakes-Buttercream-Frosting7Sift the flour, cocco and baking powder together in a bowl.

Chocolate-Coffee-Cupcakes-Buttercream-Frosting8The recipe didn’t call for it, but I decided to add chocolate chips. Why not? It’s my birthday after all.

Chocolate-Coffee-Cupcakes-Buttercream-Frosting9Here’s the baked cupcakes. As with almost every cupcake liner the colors did not maintain very well.

Chocolate-Coffee-Cupcakes-Buttercream-Frosting10

Chocolate-Coffee-Cupcakes-Buttercream-Frosting11Frosting tip: If you run out of decorating bags you can use plastic bags. Just snip off a corner and place your cake decorating tip through the hole. I also like to use a glass to help me load the bad instead of trying to get it down in there while holding the bag in my hands.

Chocolate-Coffee-Cupcakes-Buttercream-Frosting15

Chocolate-Coffee-Cupcakes-Buttercream-Frosting13

Personally, I’m not much of a cake or cupcake fan, but I do love to make them. However, these little moist cakes were outstanding. Each bit was fluffy and delicious. I didn’t expect much out of the frosting either but it was smooth with just a hint of coffee. If you want more of a coffee flavor I would add some espresso powder. Ready to try making these for yourself? Here is the recipe I used from Roxana’s Home Baking.

INGREDIENTS

Chocolate coffee cupcakes with chocolate chips
1/2 cup room temperature butter
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 cup cold brew coffee
1 3/4 cup all purpose flour
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
2 teaspoon baking powder
Coffee buttercream frosting
3/4 cup room temperature butter
3 cups powder sugar
1 tbsp cold brew coffee
2 tablespoons heavy cream

INSTRUCTIONS

Chocolate coffee cupcakes cupcakes with chocolate chips
1. Pre-heat the over to a temperature of 350F. Line two cupcake pans with 18 paper liners.
2. Cream the butter and sugar for 2-3 minutes until light and fluffy. Add each of the eggs one at a time and mix well.
3. Sift together the flour, cocoa and baking powder. Alternating adding the  cold coffee and flour mixture to the creamed butter, mixing until combined.
4. Fill each cupcake liner about 3/4 full and bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.
5. Leave the cupcakes in the pan for 5 minutes before placing them on wire racks to cool completely.
6. Once the cupcakes are cool, make the frosting.

Coffee buttercream frosting
1. Whisk the butter for about 2 minutes until light and fluffy.
2. Add the powder sugar, 1/2 cup at the time, whisking well.
3. Incorporate the cold brew coffee and heavy cream. Whisk for an additional minute.
4. Spoon the buttercream into a piping bag and frost the cupcakes.
7 thoughts on “Chocolate and Cold Brew Coffee Cupcakes with Coffee Buttercream Frosting Recipe

Any thoughts on this post?

