A taste of Brazil: Moqueca De Camaroes (Shrimp Stew)

We are more than a week into this soccer madness and I still have not caught the futbol fever. However, I’m still interested in learning about Brazil and their traditional foods.

This dish that I made is called Moqueca De Camaroes. Out of all the things I have cooked for this blog, this one is my favorite so far.

Start off by sauteing the onion in some olive oil.

 Add in garlic and red peppers followed by tomatoes, cilantro and shrimp. 

Add the coconut milk and sriracha sauce. I’m not a fan of spicy food so I cut the sriracha amount in half for the recipe. 

 To finish off this dish, add the lime juice and salt and pepper to taste.

shrimpsoup3

I tried to find cachaça to make Capirinha, which is a popular drink in Brazil, but instead I was able to find a Brazilian beer and coconut juice. If you are able to find cachaça, all you need is simple syrup and lime to make this drink. Find the recipe at maria-brazil.org.

I will be keeping this recipe in my dinner rotation for long time. If you want to give it a try you can find the recipe at food.com.

One last note, I like to have music going while I cook. Here is a Brazilian playlist to play while you are cooking this Moqueca De Camaroes.

2 thoughts on “A taste of Brazil: Moqueca De Camaroes (Shrimp Stew)

  1. Pingback: Taste and sights of Pike Place Market in Seattle | This Traveler Heart of Mine

Any thoughts on this post?

