My attempt to make Pão de Queijo (Brazilian Cheese Bread)

Full disclosure, I really don’t care for soccer, I mean futbol. While most of the world is infected with World Cup fever, I figure the best way for me to get in on the fun is of course to cook some traditional foods from Brazil.

The first item I decided to make was Pão de Queijo, essentially cheese bread. Before you scroll down and see my results, let me warn you that they did not turn out so pretty. My oven failed somewhere in the middle of the cooking time and I didn’t notice until it was too late. Since this is a blog about cooking I feel that it is important to show the failures too.

brazil_bread1

Pão de Queijo ingredients

These tasty little cheese bread balls are actually gluten free. Tapioca flour takes the place of the flour you would most likely use in your baked goods. This was my first time using tapioca flour and I was surprised at how fine the flour was.

brazilbread2

After bringing the milk, oil and salt to a boil, place in your electric stand mixer.
It was very sticky at this point.

brazilbread3

Use an ice cream scoop to portion out each ball.

brazilbread4

Here you can see my not-so-lovely Pão de Queijo. I was about to throw them away when I was convinced to at least try them before I threw them away.

brazilbread6

Luckily, I didn’t toss them. The insides turned out pretty good. Honestly, how can you go wrong with a ball of cheese? Other than that burnt part of course.

Check out the recipe I used here at thekitchn.com. They have a wonderful step-by-step guide you can follow.

Tomorrow, I will share a recipe for a traditional Brazilian shrimp stew. Spoiler alert: this is my favorite dish I have made so far for this blog!

One thought on “My attempt to make Pão de Queijo (Brazilian Cheese Bread)

  1. Pingback: Taste and sights of Pike Place Market in Seattle | This Traveler Heart of Mine

Any thoughts on this post?

