Cooking my way around the world – starting in the Canary Islands

Recipe for Pollo al salmorejo served with Papas Arrugadas with Mojo Verde. Traditional dishes of the Canary Islands, Spain.

 

I’ve come to the realization that I just won’t be able to make it to all the places I want to see in my lifetime. The second thing I realized is that I don’t need to wait to travel to do my favorite part of traveling. Learn!

Two to four times a month, I’m going to pick a location from around the world and learn a little bit about that location. Part of that learning will be cooking some of that place’s traditional dishes.

Most of my selections will be based on holidays or celebrations from around the world. To kick things off I picked the Canary Islands. On May 30, Día de las Canarias (The Day of the Canary Islands) was celebrated.

The collection of islands is actually closer to the coast of Africa then Spain. Learn some of the basic statics of the Canary Islands by clicking the map above.

The dishes I picked for dinner were pollo salmorejo with Papas arrugada (wrinkled potatoes) con mojo verde. I could only find the recipe for the chicken dish in Spanish so I used the assistance of Google translator to help me out.

I let the chicken marinade for about an hour in the fridge.

I let the chicken marinade for about an hour in the fridge.

Treated myself to a nice glass of Sangria imported from Spain. I think it said bottled in Florida though.

Treated myself to a nice glass of Sangria imported from Spain. I think it said bottled in Florida though.

Here is the final dish. I'm not a fan of many of these ingredients so I didn't think I would like this dish very much, but I actually enjoyed it.

Here is the final dish. I’m not a fan of many of these ingredients so I didn’t think I would like this dish very much, but I actually enjoyed it.

Here is the translated recipe from the original on El Recetario De Mari.

Ingredients
– 2 lbs. of chicken thighs
– 2 dry peppers (hot peppers or chorizo ​​peppers)
– 1 teaspoon oregano
– ½ cup of white wine
– 1/3 cup olive oil
– 1 teaspoon paprika
– Salt
– 4 or 5 garlic

  1. First the chicken skin is cleaned. They can be left whole or if you prefer you can halve. Reserves.
  2. In a blender pour in oil, wine, pepper, paprika, garlic, salt and oregano. Grind a few minutes. Pour the mixture over the chicken and let marinate a few hours.
  3. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Place chicken in a marinade with your baking tray and cook for 50 minutes. Halfway through cooking turn it around so that it is equal everywhere.
  4. And ready to eat ……………….. it is easy!

For dessert, I made bienmesabe. Basically, it seems like an almond and sugar gooey mixture that you serve over vanilla ice cream.

Blanched almonds for the first time for the bienmesabe. Who knew it was so easy! I may be doing this more from now on.

Blanched almonds for the first time for the bienmesabe. Who knew it was so easy! I may be doing this more from now on.

The bienmesabe called for baking the almonds for five to seven minutes.

The bienmesabe called for baking the almonds for five to seven minutes.

 

I’m pretty sure this didn’t turn out exactly right, but it was delicious.

I’m pretty sure this didn’t turn out exactly right, but it was delicious.

 

For the wrinkled potatoes and mojo recipe I visited Cook Sister and for the dessert, bienmesabe, I used the recipe from Learn Spanish 4 Life. I don’t think I really I succeeded with either of these recipes, but they still turned out pretty good.

Learn more about the Canary Islands on the official tourism website, Flikr page or Facebook page.

One thought on “Cooking my way around the world – starting in the Canary Islands

Any thoughts on this post?

